British pie week

Hello guys, firstly please let me apologize for my lack of blogs, i have been in studying hard since September and have had my head stuck in books laptops and writing whilst basically living in the library .

I recently completed the first part of my Pastry module. We are studying plated desserts, part of our module was to create a plated dessert using specific ingredients.

We were required to design a plated dessert and serve 2 identical portions. The dish must be suitable for fine dining service.We were provided with the following list of ingredients:

  1. Fresh forced rhubarb 500g
  2. 4 x Lemons
  3. White Chocolate 300g
  4. 3 x Pears
  5. 2 Vanilla Pods
  6. Amaretto (almond liquor)
  7. Elderflower cordial

I created a Rhubarb framboisier, with a pistachio jaconde base.

Thankfully i passed my assessment i didn’t get the mark i wanted but i passed none the less. I have another practical assessment in a few weeks so hopefully i shall get better marks from using the feedback i was given to improve my dessert. Wish me luck.

So it is British pie week  i have decided to embrace this week and try to make a pie for each day of the week.

download-1

Today i shall be making a pie from The Hairy Bikers Pie book. Beef and Stilton pie

images

 

with Celeriac mash, or Low fat beef and potato pie as yet i am undecided.

download

Either way i will be making pie. I have included the recipes links please have a go and let me know how your pie goes

 

lots of foodie luv Dan xx

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew Marco says:

    damn, that looks and sounds so good! I’m definitely going to have to give this a try πŸ™‚

    Overall, what would you say is your favorite thing to bake?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, that’s a hard question, i love baking in general but nothing beats a loaf of bread

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew Marco says:

    definitely! Thanks so much for that πŸ™‚

    I was wondering if you were on FB at all? It would be amazing if you could share your recipe in our group, would love for our community of food lovers to check this one out! Check us out here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

